Monday, January 5, 2015

Thailand - Provincial Seals - Round shaped stamps

This beautiful sheet is part of the 1st series of stamps issued by Thai Post on 11th October 2007. Two sheets each containing 10 round stamps within square designs showing provincial seals were released.

This is the first of the two sheets.

Sorted by Thai alphabet of their name, the stamps of the provincial seals on the sheet are as follows
  1. Bangkok Metropolis- Indra God surmounting the Erawan Elephant
  2. Krabi- Crossed swords with the Chawa Prap Mountain and the sea in the background
  3. Kanchanaburi- The Three Chedi Outpost
  4. Kalasin- The grass, a black pool, the mountains and the clouds
  5. Kampaeng Phet- The Province's boundary wall decorated with diamond studded Sema slabs
  6. Khon Kaen- Phra That Kham Kaen (A chedi on a wood Stump)
  7. Chanthaburi- A rabbit in the moon
  8. Chachoengsao- The former Ordination Hall of Sothon Wararam Worawihan Temple
  9. Chonburi- The Sammuk mountain by the coast on the Gulf of Thailand (Pattaya is located in this province)
  10. Chai Nat- The Dhamma Chakra Wheel placed in front of the mountain and borne by the Garuda
Do feel free to add your thoughts, comments or suggestions
NOTE: Please click on the images for a larger view / closer look.

No comments:

Post a Comment