Tuesday, January 27, 2015

Kenya, Uganda and Tanganyika (Tanzania)

From 1903 joint issues were made for British East Africa (later Kenya) and Uganda. In 1933 the postal administrations of Kenya, Uganda and Tanganyika were combined.
On independence of the constituent territories in the 1960s the postal administration became the East Africa Posts and Telecommunications Corporation. As well as separate issues for each state, joint commemorative issues (which however were not valid in Zanzibar) were made until the dissolution of the corporation in 1977.

Do feel free to add your thoughts, comments or suggestions
NOTE: Please click on the images for a larger view / closer look.

No comments:

Post a Comment