Sunday, November 15, 2015

Cover - Micronesia, Country #125

Micronesia is a group of islands in the Pacific, that was part of the German Caroline Islands from 1899 to 1914. Occupied by the Japanese in 1914 the islands were from 1920 a Japanese mandated territory, and from 1947 part of the United States Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands, using United States stamps.

The first stamps of independent Micronesia were issued in 1984 and depicted the four federated states that make up the country, Yap (stamp on cover), Chuuk, Pohnpei and Kosrae, in a se-tenant design.

Do feel free to add your thoughts, comments or suggestions
NOTE: Please click on the images for a larger view / closer look.

No comments:

Post a Comment