Saturday, November 15, 2014


My stamps of Zanzibar. The country was a British protectorate consisting of several islands off the coast of Tanganyika. It became independent in 1963 and a republic within the British commonwealth in 1964. The "United Republic of Tanganyika and Zanaibar" was proclaimed in July 1964 and the country was later renamed Tanzania.

My first stamp of Zanzibar - 1952 Sultan Kalif Bin Harub, 10c. Orange, the stamp on the first row. Following it are stamps from the 1957 series, the second row of stamps. And then are the stamps from the 1961 series that have the same designs as the 1957 series but with portrait of Sultan Sir Abdulla, stamps on the third and fourth rows.

Post independence stamps on the fifth row. Separate issues for Zanzibar ceased on 1 January 1968 and Tanzania stamps became valid for the whole country.

Do feel free to add your thoughts, comments or suggestions
NOTE: Please click on the images for a larger view / closer look.

No comments:

Post a Comment