Tuesday, October 1, 2013

Pictorial Cancellations of Karnataka Postal Circle - Pt 5

Bijapur District
Pattadakal Branch Post Office - 587 221

Famous for its temple architecture of Chalukyan period. Cancellation depicts the famous Galaganatha Temple.

Cancellation was introduced on 30th Sep 1987.

Chamarajnagar District
Somanathapur Branch Post Office - 571 120

Cancellation depicts front view of the Lord Somanatha temple built by Hoysalas

Cancellation was introduced on 8th Sep 1989.

Hassan District
Sravanabelagola Sub Post Office - 573 135

Cancellation depicts the monolithic statue of Gommateshwara on Indragiri at Sravanabelagola.

Cancellation was introduced on 2nd Jan 1978

Chikmagalur District
Sringeri Sub Post Office - 577 139

Cancellation depicts Vidyashankara temple of Sringeri. Sringeri is famous for the Sharada Peeta founded by Adi Shankaracharya.

Cancellation was introduced on 27th Jan 1985.

Mandya District
Srirangapatna Head Post Office - 585 401

Cancellation depicts the sword and head gear of Tipu Sultan, known as the tiger of Mysore.

Cancellation was introduced on 20th June 1987.

Udupi District
Udupi Head Post Office - 576 101

Cancellation depicts Sri Krishna of Udupi temple.

Cancellation was introduced on 23rd Jan. 1985.

Vidhana Soudha
Bangalore District
Philatelic Bureau GPO - 560 001

Cancellation depicts Vidhana soudha, the state government Secretariat.

Cancellation was introduced on 15th Jan 1979.

Do feel free to add your thoughts, comments or suggestions
NOTE: Please click on the images for a larger view / closer look.

No comments:

Post a Comment